RIP HWB

I wake up wet in bed
Not subtle wet but drenched
In sweat
Is this the change?
Is this night sweats?
It’s bad
I get myself up
It gets worse
The bed, the sheets, the mattress drenched
But not in sweat
In water
I wonder, Why would waves of water want to wetten where I slept?
I ought to shower
This is bad
Am I unwell?
This seems so strange
Substantially surreal
I’m feeling fine, just wet
My bed is cleared
So weird, the patch of water
Where I lay up my hot water bottle –
Oh
Well that’s a relief
There’s life in me yet
But not
I’m sad to say
In hwb
Rest in peace

NaPoWriMo 26: write a poem that involves alliteration, consonance, and assonance. Alliteration is the repetition of a particular consonant sound at the beginning of multiple words. Consonance is the repetition of consonant sounds elsewhere in multiple words, and assonance is the repetition of vowel sounds. Traci Brimhall’s poem “A Group of Moths” provides a great example of these poetic devices at work, with each line playing with different sounds that seem to move the poem along on a sonorous

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started