Sugarwell

Hello old friend
Your wild sweet pea shoots are peeping up through the brambles again
On the secret path (I knew just where to look for them)
It gave me a kick to see them there as though they were waiting for me
I guess it’s not surprising given how much time we spent together
When the world was locked down and you kept me sane
Me and the horses, foxes, red kites and magpies
Even deer, if you’re quiet enough
And from the clanging sounds of industry, you have space for everyone
You’re unique. I love getting lost with you, finding new parts of you,
Writing poetry and gazing at the sky with you
I love meeting friends and foraging elderberries with you
Today was the first time I’ve seen the sweet pea shoots so small
Tell me, Sugarwell, what else have I been missing?

NaPoWriMo 27: write an “American sonnet.” What’s that? Well, it’s like a regular sonnet but . . . fewer rules? Like a traditional Spencerian or Shakespearean sonnet, an American sonnet is shortish (generally 14 lines, but not necessarily!), discursive, and tends to end with a bang, but there’s no need to have a rhyme scheme or even a specific meter. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started