The List

NaPoWriMo 21 – Have you ever heard or read the nursery rhyme, “There was a man of double deed?” Write a poem that, like this one, uses lines that have a repetitive set-up.

In the peace before sleep
I have time to write a list
The list is waiting when I wake
I have inside my head an ache
The list taps on my aching head
I have no choice but to leave my bed
The list starts off with a harmless task
I have it done and stop to bask
The list does not allow for basking
I have to move, there is no asking
The list if I can pause a while
I have to tick and tick in style
The list expands before my eyes
I have so much to do but I’m paralysed
The list does not allow for sleep
I have these promises to keep
The list of promises impossible to follow
I have to give until I’m hollow
The list carves all my insides out
I have not even breath to shout
The list then takes my arms and legs
I have a torso and a head
The list takes those as well and then
I have at last some peace again

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started