Saturday Lunch with Angie and Paul

Saturday lunch with Angie and Paul
It’s a big deal.
Nice meal at this fancy new place
I race down there
Glance them through the window
Waiting at the table
Me, unable to leave the flat
No point spinning a fable
I got distracted by mopping and hoovering
I gable over to the table
So sweet, the 2 of them
Sweet like the burnt apple mustard I tasted
At the fancy new place, leaving no trace of it on my plate
Why would you?
That burnt apple mustard brought a smile to my face
If I could embrace it I would’ve
It got me flustered
I ate things there I’ve never tasted
Sweet treats, served neat, we eat to our hearts content
Then it’s talking watching people walking by the window
Running, skating, biking, dancing, dragging instruments
This is town on Saturday afternoon
You can’t be down when you look around
It’s all happening
The meal was unreal
Now we feel full
To be together is to heal
We’re talking
We keep on talking
Staff walking past
I absentmindedly fiddle with the toothpick
Lick my lips remembering
The burnt apple mustard
See the redbrick on the buildings outside
Afternoon turns to night
I thought I might be back by four
I have no bike light so I might have to take flight
No broomstick joystick glowstick
Just a bright gown and jacket
Town is full of light
I check the time
What the heck!??
EIGHT HOURS have passed
At a table talking
The people outside are walking not to shops
But to theatres, bars and clubs
And we trace the place where we once adjusted the space
For the burnt apple mustard
All we see now is empty glasses
And a toothpick
I unstick myself from the seat
My face reddens as we apologise to the staff
We say a hurried goodbye and embrace
I feel surreal
Like I’m on drugs
What just happened?
8 hours talking at a table
That
Was
Burnt apple mustard magic

NaPoWriMo 13: Start by creating a “word bank” of ten simple words. They should only have one or two syllables apiece. Five should correspond to each of the five senses (i.e., one word that is a thing you can see, one word that is a type of sound, one word that is a thing you can taste, etc). Three more should be concrete nouns of whatever character you choose (i.e., “bridge,” “sun,” “airplane,” “cat”), and the last two should be verbs. Now, come up with rhymes for each of your ten words. (If you’re having trouble coming up with rhymes, the wonderful Rhymezone is at your service). Use your expanded word-bank, with rhymes, as the seeds for your poem. Your effort doesn’t actually have to rhyme in the sense of having each line end with a rhymed word, but try to use as much soundplay in your poem as possible.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started